Late night phone calls…

….pretty darn hard to kick. As a lot of you graveyard shift workers know, working alone at night can be a real miserable experience. There might be a colleague there with you who is terrible company or there might be no company at all. What can you do to pass the time and keep your sanity? Well, I don’t know about the rest of you but I was always on the phone. I work in a Network Operations Center so a lot of my time is spent staring at the computer screen and waiting for stuff to go down. So while I’m sitting there, monitoring networks, I’m also chatting away on the phone. I’ve got a few nocturnal friends who are sometimes willing to keep me company, either out of pity or because they’re bored themselves. We talk about stupid stuff, emotional stuff, kinky stuff and sometimes….baby stuff. Lately though I haven’t been on the phone quite as much. My nocturnal friends have either departed the country or departed my life…or in one rare case, too busy looking after her newborn. So now I have to try and kick the habit. Believe me, it’s a hard habit to kick when you’ve been doing it for so long. Oh how I miss those long, late night phone calls.

My cell phone lays there, taunting me.

~ by nav on November 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
