Two sad souls meet

I don’t remember the first time I met her. Not too well, anyway. She said Hi and I responded with an equally bare greeting. I admit, she was quite the looker. The perfect girl next door type. She wasn’t a cheerleader, she was the quirky girl everyone loved to hate and no one paid much attention to. Over the months though, as I started to bump into her more frequently, I began to notice a few more things about her, like the slight freckles on her face, her innocent blue eyes and the sadness in her heart. Maybe she noticed that same ungodly quality in me because she began to talk to me a lot. Trivial things at first but gradually she opened up and told me all her sad stories. Everything from her traumatic childhood to her social ineptitude. I could relate to a lot of it and I felt her pain. We were two sad souls comforted in each others company. We sat and spoke and as the days grew late, and the nights grew later, we said our reluctant goodbyes.

We continued to meet every day and talk on the phone when we couldn’t. She invaded my every thought, my every waking moment. Even my dreams revolved around her. I didn’t know what I was feeling, couldn’t understand my fascination, my preoccupation with her. My friends called it love. I didn’t know what to call it but if what I was feeling was really love then it must surely be the greatest feeling around. At least that’s what I thought at first.

*I’ve been itching to write a story, something based on my life but with a element of fiction added. I’ll continue to write it out in my posts when inspired. Would love some feedback from whoever reads it. I know I’m not a writer so I welcome any tips or constructive criticism.

~ by nav on December 8, 2008.

One Response to “Two sad souls meet”

  1. That’s cute! I liked it.

Leave a Reply

 
