Major changes

Oh my, It’s been so long since I’ve posted in here. Things sure have changed. To list them all will take more than on paltry blog post. I suppose I should start with the one obvious major change that happened in my life. I have officially been diagnosed with chronic depression. Can’t say I’m too happy about it or too sad. I suppose it’s nice having a label. Funny how it makes you feel a little more connected to the world and the people trudging along. But depression does have a certain stigma associated with it. As my therapist constantly reminds me, it is a disease, an actual illness. Maybe I do agree with her but how can she be certain? It’s all very subjective. Stick a needle in my arm and give me a test. No that’s not possible. Pity it’s not so easy.

She has pescribed me the one drug every depressed person has likely taken at some point in their life. The ever popular drug, prozac, makes its way down my throat every morning. Does it help? I can’t be certain. But I can say without a doubt that I’ve changed and for the better. It’s not that pill though. There’s so much happening in my life that, while I may feel a little overwhelmed, are actually helping me realize I’m oh so very alive. To think I actually look forward to the next day. It’s scary positive, especially for someone like me.

Please stick around as I explain the many things that have happened in my life. The good, the bad, and the ugly.

~ by nav on May 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
